Former Ph.D. Students

2019

Aku Antikainen

Novel Concepts for Enhancing Nonlinear Phenomena in Optical Fibers, 2019
Boston University, Boston, MA
antikainenaku@gmail.com

2018

Shaival Buch

Nonlinear Optical Phenomena in Multimode Fibers, 2018
ASML Inc., Wilton, CT
shaivalbuch@gmail.com

2017

Brent Plansinis

Applications of Space-Time Duality, 2017
L3Harris corporation, Orlando, FL
brentplansinis@gmail.com

2015

Yuzhe Xiao

Propagation of Optical Pulses in Dynamic Media: A Time Transformation Method, 2015
ECE Dept., University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI
xiao5@wisc.edu

2012

Brian Daniel

Nonlinear Photonics Devices with Subwavelength Dimensions, 2012
Daylight Solutions, San Diego, CA
badanielster@gmail.com

Prashant Baveja

Optical Signal Processing with Reduced Power Consumption, 2012
InP Semiconductor Lasers, CA
prashantpankajbaveja@gmail.com

2009

Lianghong Yin

Study of Nonlinear Optical Effects in Silicon Waveguides, 2009
Mentor Graphics, Fremont, CA lianghong_yin@mentor.com

2006

Qiang Lin

Polarization and Fiber Nonlinearities, 2006
University of Rochester, Rochester, NY qiang.lin@rochester.edu

Fatih Yaman

Fiber-Optic Parametric Amplifiers: Their Advantages and Limitations, 2006
NEC Laboratories, Princeton NJ fyaman@nec-labs.com

Nicholas G. Usechak

Mode Locking of Fiber Lasers at High Repetition Rates, 2006
Airforce Research Lab, Wright Patterson AFB, Ohio Nicholas.Usechak@wpafb.af.mil

2005

Ekaterina Poutrina

Design of Modern Dispersion-Managed Lightwave Systems, 2005
Wright-Patterson Air Force Base ekaterina.poutrina@yahoo.com

2004

Jayanthi Santhanam

Applications of Moment Method to Optical Communications Systems, 2004
University of Edinburgh, Scotland, UK jsanthan@staffmail.ed.ac.uk

2001

Zhi M. Liao

Design of High-Capacity Fiber-Optic Transport Systems, 2001
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Livermore, CA liao2@llnl.gov

2000

Drew N. Maywar

All-Optical Signal Processing using DFB Semiconductor Optical Amplifiers, 2000
Rochester Institute of Technology, Rochester, NY dnmiee@rit.edu

1997

Joanne Law

Static, Dynamic, and Noise Characteristics of VCSELs, 1997
Nanometrics, Inc., Palo Alto, CA jylaw1@gmail.com

John Marciante

Filamentation and Spatial Feedback Effects in Semiconductor Lasers, 1997
University of Rocheter, Rochester, NY  marciante@optics.rochester.edu

Andrew Ryan

Spatio-Temporal Coupling in Nonlinear Media, 1997
Gener8, Silicon Valley, CA; andrew00ryan@earthlink.net

1996

Lisa Liou

Temporal, Spectral, and Noise Characteristics of Fiber Amplifiers and Lasers, 1996
Arista Networks, Silicon Valley, CA LLiou@perkinscoie.com

1995

Cliff Headley

Ultrafast Raman Scattering in Optical Fibers, 1995
OFS Laboratories, Sommerset, NJ cheadley@ofsoptics.com